Lieutenant Governor’s & New Professionals Award – Call for Nominations


2018 IPAC Saskatchewan’s Lieutenant Governor’s Award

This prestigious medal recognizes a person who has demonstrated distinctive leadership and exceptional achievement in public administration in Saskatchewan. The Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan will present this award on September 19, 2018 during a ceremony at Government House hosted by the Saskatchewan Regional Group of IPAC.

Previous recipients of this award include meritorious public servants from all levels of government and a variety of fields of interest and public sector specialization across Saskatchewan.

Annually we also accept nominations for an award to honour promising new public sector professionals in Saskatchewan.  This Promising New Professional award recognizes an individual or team of individuals with less than five years of cumulative experience in public service who demonstrates: •  leadership potential within the public service; •  the ideals and values of public administration; and •  the ability and potential to contribute to excellence in public service in Saskatchewan.


IPAC Saskatchewan LG Gold Medal Winners:

Award established in 1986 and first presented in 1987.

1987: Richard Baxter, Exec. Director, Rehabilitation Services, Saskatchewan Social Services

1988: Dr. Leo Kristjanson, President, University of Saskatchewan

1989: Jack Sutherland, Deputy Minister, Saskatchewan Highways & Transportation

1990: Art Wakabayashi, Deputy Minister, Saskatchewan Finance

1991: Joe Moran, Exec. Director, Wascana Centre Authority

1992: Terry Thompson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Saskatchewan Justice

1993: The Native Law Centre at the University of Saskatchewan the first team to win the award, the first year that teams were eligible.

1994: Dr. Harry Hill, Director General, Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration

1995: Bland Brown, Senior Director, Environment & Infrastructure for the City of Regina

1996: Duane Adams, Deputy Minister, Saskatchewan Health

1997: Jim Hutch, President, Saskatchewan Research Council

1998: Ray Clayton, Deputy Minister, Energy & Mines

1999: Bill Hewitt, Manager, Protective Services &       Chief of the Saskatoon Fire Department

2000: Crown Investments Corporation, Strategic Management Team

2001: Cliff Wright, City of Saskatoon

2002: V. Lynne Pearson, University of Saskatchewan

2003: Dan Perrins, Deputy Minister to the Premier, Government of Saskatchewan

2004: Bob Linner, Manager, City of Regina

2005: Executive Management Team, Farm Credit Canada

2006: Dr. Gregory P. Marchildon, Professor & Canada Research Chair, Graduate School of Pubic Policy, University of Regina

2007: Mike Shaw, Associate Deputy Minister, Saskatchewan Health

2008: Calvin Stanley Johnston, Chief of Police, City of Regina (Ret’d)

2009: Pursuing Excellence Team, Five Hills Health Region

2010: Doug Moen, Deputy Minister to the Premier, Government of Saskatchewan

2011: Patricia Youzwa, Past President and CEO of SaskPower

2012: Dr. Michael Atkinson, Past Executive Director of the Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy (JSGS)

2013: Sharon Lee Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD)

2014: Ron Styles, President and CEO, SaskTel

2015: Clare Isman, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Finance

2016: Chief Clive Weighill, Chief of Police, Saskatoon Police Service

2017: Ken Acton, Executive-in-Residence, Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy (JSGS)



IPAC Awards Policy – June 2018

2018 – LG Award – Nomination package

2018 – Promising New Professional Award – Nomination package